7 Reasons I am Passionate About Agriculture

8 Mar

Happy National Agriculture Awareness Day!

I woke up this morning and quickly turned to my go to social media sites to check out how my fellow AGvocates were celebrating National Agriculture Awareness Day. I was blown away with the enormous amount of buzz about this growing holiday. In honor of Ag Day 2012 I want to share 10 reasons I am passionate about agriculture.

  1. It’s in my blood. I come from a long line of farmers, some big, some small. My husband and I are the youngest generation of farmers in our area. The general public is two or three generations removed from the farm. I just can’t imagine not carrying on the family farming tradition.
  2. I have amazing parents. There were many days growing up where everything they said I thought was crazy, but as the saying goes, hindsight is always 20/20. They were enthusiastic when I told them I wanted to major in agriculture. They were encouraging when I told them I wanted to stop teaching and become a full-time farmer. Their love and advice over the years I will cherish forever.
  3. I married a farmer. I differently dated a few randoms over the years. But I am glad God’s plan for me outshined the plan I had for myself. My husband is my best friend and love of my life. As we farm together each day my passion for him and for farm life grows.
  4. I was a member of the FFA. The FFA was a very common household name growing up. I couldn’t wait to join my freshman year in high school. Confidence was and still is something I struggle with. The FFA taught me leadership and communication skills I use on a daily basis through public speaking contests and leadership workshops. This experience amplified the confidence in myself and boosted my love for the agriculture industry.
  5. I love food. I am so thankful I have never had to go hungry a day in my life. But that hasn’t stopped me from always wondering what my next meal be. Growing up I would finish lunch and ask, What’s for dinner?” Now, as I am in charge of the meals in my house, I get so excited cooking something yummy. Thank you farmers for allowing me to always have food on my table.
  6. It’s the people. The folks involved in the agriculture industry are simply the greatest around. They are hard working, passionate, loving, responsible and dedicated. Strangers from across the country can come together with the common goal of sharing what they do and how they do it. We as agriculturist are all on the same team. I can’t think of any other time I would rather be on.
  7. It’s so rewarding. Witnessing new life entering the world or watching the growth of seed from planting to harvest is truly fulfilling. Farmers and ranchers can throw their shoulders back and walk a little straighter thinking of the food they produce to feed people all over the world. What other industry has that type of impact?

What makes you passionate about agriculture? Tell Your Story!

My Life in The Hills

My Life in The Hills

6 Responses to “7 Reasons I am Passionate About Agriculture”

  1. Maddee March 8, 2012 at 10:03 AM #

    Love it, and I couldn’t agree more!

  2. Kim Coudron March 8, 2012 at 10:22 AM #

    Jamie! Love this..so glad you are a part of the great people I meet up with across the country to tell our story:) Hope you have a great day in MO!

    • My Life in 'The Hills' March 8, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

      Kim, thank you that means so much! You do a great job sharing your agriculture story…hope to see you soon!

  3. Kathy sissel March 8, 2012 at 4:51 PM #

    I am so proud of the young woman you have become. The future of agriculture is safe in your hands and the many others who still love the farm.

Leave a Reply

