The Food Challenge

13 Apr

This morning I was pilfering through my Facebook Newsfeed and came across The Food List Challenge: 100 Foods to Eat Before You Die. It challenges you amongst your Facebook friends to see who has tried the most unusual foods from across the world. The 100 Food Challenge

I was naturally intrigued and took the challenge. The 100 foods are listed in alphabetical order and you simply check if you have tried it. Many I could not pronounce and had never even heard of. I finally got to barbecue ribs and biscuits & gravy and got to make a check.

As I traveled through the list, my score shocked me…23 out of 100. I am actually embarrassed to admit it. I am a lover of food and I will try anything at least once. I can’t promise I will finish a complete serving or eat it again, but I will try it.

This foodie challenge has led me to an epiphany: I need to broaden my taste buds and figure out what all those others foods on that list are.

If I succeed in meeting this self-imposed challenge it will lead to a series of post defining different foods on the list of 100, additions to the 23 foods I have tried and maybe I will be able to share some different recipes you can try.

Today, I will humbly share with you the foods I actually got to put a check beside.

  1. Barbecue Ribs

  2. Biscuits and Gravy

  3. Calamari

  4. Cheese Fondue

  5. Chicken and Waffles (not together, maybe I shouldn’t count it)

  6. Eel

  7. Fish Tacos

  8. Fresh Spring Rolls

  9. Friend Catfish

  10. Fried Green Tomatoes

  11. Fried Plantain

  12. Frito Pie

  13. Funnel Cake

  14. Goulash

  15. Gumbo

  16. Head Cheese

  17. Heirloom Tomatoes

  18. Jerk Chicken

  19. Mimosa

  20. Philly Cheese Steak

  21. S’mores

  22. Sauerkraut

  23. Sweet Potato Fries

I would like you to take The Food Challenge and let me know how many of the foods you have tried. I do hope you your score is higher than mine.

Leave a Reply

