Homemade Baked Flautas

17 Apr

I found this flautas recipe on Pinterest, but like most things I cook, I changed it a little based on what I had in my fridge and pantry. The original recipe can be found at Healthy. Delicious. This recipe caught my eye because the flautas are baked not fried. It is a great healthy recipe for the whole family.

Below you will find the original recipe in black and my additions/substitutions in green.

Baked Flautas

Yields 10 flautas
Prep Time: 15 minutes; Total Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless Chicken Thighs (about 4)
  • 16 ounces Beer
  • 2 cups Water
  • 1 teaspoon Paprika – I did not have this so I just skipped it.
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt – My salt was not Kosher…haha!
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Powder – I doubled the garlic because you can never have too much.
  • 1 teaspoon ground Cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Chili Powder
  • Jalapeño Pepper, minced – I used a can of green chillies because I did not have a Jalapeño.
  • 1 Medium White Onion 
  • 3 cups Baby Spinach, chopped
  • 5 burrito-size Flour Tortillas (9 inches)
  • 6 ounces Queso Quesadilla or other melting cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil, or cooking spray
  • Salsa, for serving
  • Guacamole, for serving
  • Sour Cream, for serving 

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 450*F.
  2. Put the chicken thighs in a deep sided saute pan and cover with the beer and water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove the chicken from the liquid and shred it. Mix together the chicken and seasonings.
  3. Pour out all but 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid. Add the jalapeño and spinach and cook over low heat until for 2-3 minutes, or until the spinach is wilted. I sautéed the onions and chillies in this cooking liquid. I then added the chicken and seasoning to this mixture and let simmer.
  4. Cut the tortillas in half. Spoon 1/10th of the chicken (about 1 tablespoon) along the long edge of a tortilla. Repeat with the spinach and cheese. Roll the tortilla up, starting with the straight edge. Place seam-side down on an oiled baking sheet. Repeat with remaining tortillas.
  5. Brush the flautas with olive oil or spray with cooking spray. Bake for 10 minutes, then turn them over and bake for until 10 minutes, or until crispy. Serve with salsa.
Homemade Baked Flautas

Homemade Baked Flautas

Homemade Baked Flautas

2 Responses to “Homemade Baked Flautas”

  1. Dorene Milin April 25, 2012 at 11:58 PM #

    Interesting article Homemade Baked Flautas My Life in 'The Hills'. I haven’t thought of this kind before. It can be a wonder what you can discover on the Internet.

  2. blog April 19, 2014 at 8:23 PM #

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog.

    You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of
    the load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in
    exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

