Norman III

26 Apr

I would like to introduce you to Norman III aka our new bottle calf. Why you might ask did we choose to name him Norman. Well, all I should have to say is City Slickers and you should be able to put two and two together. It seems on our farm every orphan calf gets dubbed Norman. I am not really sure he is our 3rd Norman, but I thought it had a nice ring to it.Norman III

We found Norman III just the other day while moving cows. From time to time a mama cow won’t take her calf or doesn’t have enough milk to properly feed it. Norman is a natural calf out of one of our recip cows. The cow is a purebred Santa Gertrudis and was bred by a Charolais bull. So, Norman is creamy red in color.

Bottle calves are kind of a pain in the butt. Unless you have young kids who take pride in caring for the responsibility of raising it. They require at least two bottles of milk replacement each day until they are about two months of age. At that point they can be transfered to a grower feed containing high protein. Currently I am the sole care-giver to Norman, but I have high hopes for finding a youngster to give it to.

So, without further ado, I would like to introduce to you Norman III, enjoying a dinner of champions.

Norman III

No matter how much of a pain in my butt he is, you can’t deny how adorable he is.

Norman III

The lazy guy wouldn’t get up at first, but I can’t blame him.

Norman III

And finally he is going to town. I only take a few minutes for him to down the entire bottle.

Norman III

Joining Norman and I was my Cocker Spaniel, Roxie. She is a ‘wanna be’ cow dog. She follows around our Blue Heeler, Stout, and thinks she rules the roost.

Leave a Reply

