The Kernel Memoirs

14 Jun

Corn on the cob is good year round, but you can’t beat garden, fresh sweet corn on the cob in the summertime. I just came across this on Pinterest and immediately thought of my great grandma. I have many fond memories from time spent in the hills with my great grandparents and I vividly remember picking sweet corn in multiple great grandmas’ gardens.

The memory that put a smile on my face when I saw the picture of this gizmo was when I was a little girl. My great grandpa, like many great grandpas, had false teeth. This created a difficulty when eating corn on the cob. My great grandma would manually cut off the corn from the cob so he could eat it. I thought that was the coolest thing ever and insisted that I have my corn served the same way. Laughing my grandma would carefully cut the corn from the cob for me.

I was fortunate to never have braces so the chore of physically cutting corn off the cob has never been an issue with me. And I hope I have taken good care of my teeth over the years to never have to have false teeth. But I do believe my great grandma would have been the first to invest in this Corn Kerneller.

Leave a Reply

