Books-A-Million

29 Dec

Okay…so maybe I didn’t get a million books for Christmas, but I did get quite a few. And I couldn’t be happier. Books are something that I have a true passion for. Reading is something that has been instilled in me from a very young age. Every night before bed my mom would read to me. Of course, it started out with children’s book that were just a few pages long. Then, it progressed into chapter books like the classic books by Laura Ingalls Wilder and the entire collection of The Chronicles of Narnia. As a young girl I collected The Boxcar Children and American Girl books, just to name a few. As a young adult I was drawn to mysteries and love stories. And now as an older young adult, I will actually read anything and everything. Genres I never thought I would ever enjoy, like sci-fi, are now some of my favorites.

I put off reading books on my iPhone and iPad for as long as I could, because I love the nostalgic feeling of holding a real book in my hands and placing it on my shelf once finished with a smile of accomplishment. But I gave in about a year ago and am addicted to the ease of reading wherever I am without remembering to grab a book (iPhone is always with me) and the ability to quickly buy the next book of a series without running to the nearest bookstore.  I have to admit I do go back and buy the traditional books when I read one I truly love.

My love for reading runs in the family. My great-grandma Helen was not only a writer but an avid reader as well. She instilled the love for reading into my mom and my mom has passed it down to me. Thank you both for giving the best gift this girl could ask for. I dream of one day having a large room covered from wall to wall with books. I don’t really have any hobbies, so I guess collecting books is my so-called hobby of choice.

Over the past couple of years my mom has bought me some of the classics for my birthday and Christmas, so I too can have a copy to read to my kids one day. Right now I am working on collecting the Little House series and The Chronicles of Narnia.

So, naturally when I was asked what I wanted for Christmas this year I said books. I received a rather large range of topics this year and can’t wait to dig in. Which should I read first?

The Hobbit 

The Lucky Ones by Ann Godbersen

Laura Ingalls Wilder: The Writer’s Life

Laura Ingalls Wilder, Farm Journalist: Writings from the Ozarks

The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder

By the Shores of SIlver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier

A to Z Crochet

Books

What book are you currently reading?

Update:

I just finished reading The Hobbit! As it was written for a younger audience, it was a fast read. I recommend the classic for all ages. My next goal is to read The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I watched the movies years ago, but I hear the books add so much to the great tail.

4 Responses to “Books-A-Million”

  1. Fiercely Yours December 29, 2012 at 3:16 PM #

    The Hobbit is a great story and you should read it before seeing the movie of course. I love when I read about people still buying actual books. Keep writing and reading!

    • My Life in 'The Hills' December 29, 2012 at 3:19 PM #

      I just started reading The Hobbit today! I have an unwritten rule of always reading the book before I watch the movie!!! Thanks for reading!

  2. Marsha Russell December 30, 2012 at 11:29 AM #

    The Long Winter has always been a favorite of mine. I wanted to be Ma Ingalls when I grew up. Still do.

  3. cprocks1959 December 30, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

    I just finished re-reading the entire O’Malley series for the third time by Dee Henderson. A good book is really good when it can be enjoyed again and again. Some (but not all) of my favorite authors to re-read are Grace Livingston Hill, Jane Austen, C.S. Lewis, Laura Ingalls Wilder, the above mentioned Dee Henderson and Catherine Marshall.

Leave a Reply

