Baby|Calf Watch 2014

5 Jan
IMG_1314

The hubs has already spent half the night in the pasture watching for new babies, but is at it again just as the sun is coming up.

Just about 3 weeks away from D-Day, but our cows are in the heat of calving and today many decided to pop out during the first snow storm of 2014. Not only are we expected to get about 8 inches of snow, but the wind chill is suppose to be in the -20’s. Those of us living in Southern Missouri sure aren’t used to these sub-zero temps.

Calving season is my favorite time of the year. All the hard work throughout the year makes it worth it when you see the calves nursing and chasing their mamas across the field.

At this stage in my pregnancy, I can’t really do a whole lot on the farm. However, I do make a pretty good side-kick, secretary, tag-maker and gate-getter. Since I can’t get out of the truck, I snapped some pics with my phone to keep myself entertained.

IMG_1329

Extended cab trucks come in handy during these winter calving months. Thawing out this baby, she was one of four who chilled out in the truck with me this morning.

IMG_1335IMG_1333IMG_1330

One Response to “Baby|Calf Watch 2014”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Ag Life You Can Take a Boy Out of the Country: 5 Things I DO NOT Miss From Winter on the Farm - My Ag Life - January 6, 2014

    […] productive. Janice, Michael, and Brandi all have some good advice for what to do with this cold; Jamie, Brandi (a different Brandi), Carolyn and many others are managing livestock during these record […]

Leave a Reply

